So Full Of Olympic Energy

Second Marathon already in the books; (inset) 2,040 runners begin their 42.195-kilometer journey.

     PASAY CITY – My second full 42.195-kilometer marathon has been completed at the 36th National MILO Marathon Metro Manila qualifiers last July 29 at the Mall of Asia grounds as one in a record field of 2,040 runners in what is deemed is deemed as the Philippines’ most prestigious road race.

     The goal was simple – finish and finish strong within the six-hour limit and take home the gigantic medal and shirt.  It is humbly submitted that the qualifying standard for my age bracket is still unattainable based on my recent performances.

     Actually, 36,389 more runners showed up for the 21, 10, five and three-kilometer side events for a grand total of 38,429 that eclipsed all previous attendance figures.  With each runner donating PHP10.00 and MILO chipping in the same amount, that translates into PHP 768,580.00 that will go to the race’s advocacy of donating sports shoes to poor but deserving schoolchildren from selected public schools.

     In 2010, I failed to attend the 34th MILO Marathon National Finals after a drunk rammed his car into mine on the way to Rizal Park.  This time, I almost did not make it because to be honest, I was having some financial woes and paying for races suddenly became second and even a third priority.

     Suddenly, an “angel” offered me a free entry and without hesitation signed up for the full marathon.  In 2011, I already enlisted for the full marathon in the 35th edition’s Metro Manila qualifier but suddenly had a change of heart as I was about to exit the registration center and quickly traded it for a 21-kilometer kit.

     I have always advised other runners that since the registration fee for the 10, 21 and 42.195-kilometer categories is a flat PHP 500.00, might as well go for the longest distance and get your money’s worth. Why run 10 kilometers when one can run 21 kilometers and earn a medal in the process?  Why run 21 kilometers when one can run the full marathon and get a bigger medal, loot bag and shirt?

PREPARATION

     Of course, the answer always boils down to one’s preparation and physical fitness level.  It is always stated that preparing for a marathon is no joke and should be done around three months in advance.

     Compared to my first marathon last February, I can say that my preparation was far better following the mantra that the preparation for the next race begins when the last race ends.  A couple of weeks after, I began to regularly attend a free twice-a-week free running clinic.

     Under the guidance of coaches, I managed to improve my personal bests in the half-marathon twice this year.  However, their training program was geared towards preparing for the clinic’s sponsor’s own series of races culminating with a marathon in October.

     The spate of typhoons that beset Metro Manila for the whole of July proved to be a monkey wrench into training plans, eliminating the chance to do long runs on non-clinic days.  Since I could not join any other races for practice, I resorted to hoping for free entries but they never came.  Taking the “bandit” route was farthest from my mind.

     Still, the challenge is to make the most of what one has.  In order to save jeep fare money, I rode my bicycle to and from the clinics, a good 25-kilometer round trip that served as cross-training.

     Next to go were the post-workout snacks, which meant no more fast food or mall food court stuff which turned out to be very good.  The end result was tipping the scales at 140 pounds on race week, my lowest weight in the last two decades and 15 pounds lighter than my weight during the first marathon.

     In my first marathon, I clocked 6:10:25 with haphazard preparation.  The clinic coaches assured me that the MILO course is far easier and coupled with their training, setting a new record would be a piece of cake.

I always save for the final sprint to the finish. (photos courtesy of http://www.photovendo.ph)

RACE DAY

     As always, the mounting excitement makes it so difficult to catch a decent shut eye on the eve of any race, whether it is a short fun run, multi-sport or much more a full marathon.  I was lying in bed as early as 6:00 PM after watching the replay of the 2012 London Olympics opening ceremonies until the alarm went off at 12:00 AM.

     Since everything was already prepared beforehand, all what was left to do was pick up the bag after doing the standard stuff of showering and eating which consisted of leftover spaghetti from last night’s dinner, a banana and hot MILO.  I arrived at the Mall of Asia just before 2:00 AM.  A one-kilometer jog followed by dynamic stretching exercises served as a warm-up.

     The usual ceremonies, speeches and traditions were completed before the gun was fired at exactly 3:00 AM.  There’s no more turning back as 2,040 warm bodies jostled for position towards the starting arch.

     Inspired by seeing the parade of the world’s greatest athletes, it was time to unleash all the Olympic energy in my body.   The general strategy was to race conservatively for the first 16 to 21 kilometers and make the move afterwards.  The initial pace was good for six minutes and change per kilometer which was quite comfortable.

     A couple of mild showers greeted the runners in the early stages of the race but they were more like mist.  After a run around MOA and Macapagal, the group proceeded to tackle the whole length of Roxas Boulevard.

     A good sign was the easy feeling on the ascent and descent on both the Buendia and EDSA flyovers.  That means that there will hopefully be enough energy for the latter stages of the race.

     Like all their previous races, Coach Rio dela Cruz and his team get passing marks for providing the basics like hydration and marshals.  However, I still prefer another brand of non-carbonated sports drink.  Still, it’s far better than the previous marathon were only water was served and with a single banana station throughout the 42.195-kilometer route.  Just to be sure, I again tied a pair of candy bars on my race belt.

     Usually, marathon runners hit the proverbial wall by the 32nd kilometer, which was situated somewhere along the descent from the Kalayaan flyover coming from The Fort.  In the last marathon, I walked most of the final 10 kilometers.  This time, I was maintaining a constant pace way past the 32-kilometer mark, hitting it in just under four hours, until the inevitable happened.

     Dark and low clouds were observed forming over the Makati Business District while negotiating the areas of The Fort.  A brief but heavy downpour suddenly hit on Buendia going back to MOA resulting in slightly wet shoes and socks which definitely slowed me down.

     A six-hour curfew was imposed for the full marathon.  Any runner who crosses the finish line after such time will not be entitled to the finishers’ medal and shirt.  Some may even be picked up by a sweeper vehicle and eventually disqualified.

     I was back in Macapagal Boulevard by the five-hour mark.  It was time to summon all remaining energy for the final push.  Even if I walk, I would safely make the curfew but smashing my personal record was very tempting.

     Truth is I was already taking brief walks in the area approaching Star City.  I believe this is greatly attributable to the lack of long runs prior to the race.  I have no problem with my cardio since I was not panting or short of breath, it just so happened by feet began to hurt big time.

     As I made the mad dash upon seeing the finish arch, I tried to pass as many runners as possible.  Coach Rio was at the finish area busy directing traffic and asking the people to clear the path for the runners and then gave me a high five just as I crossed the line.

     Looking at my watch, 40 minutes were shaved off the old record.  I was then handed the medal, certificate and goody bag.  The finishers’ medal was indeed big but it was better if it was directly hung on the runners’ necks instead of being handed still encased in bubble wrap.  It seems the trend now is for Filipino marathon medals to outdo each other in size!

     Finishers’ shirts were claimed at a nearby booth.  They ran out of large finishers’ shirts but the extra large shirt fitted fine.  Finally, I can say that I am a real marathon runner with two already under my belt in a six-month span!

     Jason Agravante and Jho Ann Banayag ruled the race with times of 2:39:57 and 3:02.20 respectively.  They will join 125 others, including several foreigners, who qualified for the 36th MILO Marathon National Finals on December 9 still at the MOA by finishing within the prescribed time for their age and gender bracket.  For those who failed to make the grade, they may join any of the 12 upcoming qualifying races until November in order to run in the National Finals.

     Meanwhile, the rains forced the organizers to cancel the inter-school cheerleading competition.

EPILOGUE

     One week after the race, it has been zero activity.  However, it is nice to note that unlike my first marathon the pain in both legs eased by the third day and I did not contact a cold.

     Sadly, the weather continued to be uncooperative and the running clinic was cancelled for two straight sessions.  By the way, I put on a quick five pounds immediately after the race after attacking the buffet during the reception for my nephew’s baptism but my weight has since returned to 140 pounds.

     Sneaking in a short recovery was tough.  Aside from the weather, it was time to resume working so it meant lesser time for running.

     This early, the 37th MILO Marathon is already in my race calendar for 2013.  My goal of running four marathons in 2012 is halfway complete.

     However, the burning question lingers – what if the preparation was done properly?  Perhaps we have to wait until the next MILO race to find out.

About Anthony E. Servinio

A long-time television sportscaster, magazine writer, photographer and college professor from the Philippines finally gives blogging a try after more than a decade of on-line presence. Read on folks!
This entry was posted in Running, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment