Pain In The Rain

A wet Chevrolet New Balance Power Run 2011. (photo courtesy of RJ Knight Runner)

TAGUIG CITY – To run or not to run, that was the question posed upon waking up at the crack of dawn last Sunday (November 6) to the sight of strong rains.  The Chevrolet New Balance Power Run 2011 was scheduled at the Bonifacio Global City but the weather suggested remaining dry at home.  Besides, no damage would be incurred since my participation in the 25-kilometer category was free of charge thanks to running website http://www.runningenthusiast.net.

Suddenly, the rains receded into a mild drizzle thus giving the cue to get to the starting line.  For one, this would be my first run beyond the traditional 21 kilometers.  The mindset was to use this free run as a preparation for the tougher Unilab III 32-kilometer race on November 13.

Obviously, whatever time registered will be an automatic personal best.  Just as I finished depositing my belongings at the baggage counter and began limbering up on my own, the countdown suddenly began so I scampered to the starting line as the gun fired.

The initial running pace was the usual, joining the mad dash of the starting wave.  However, I shifted to a relaxed mode after the first hydration station.  To further illustrate that time was immaterial, I lost around three to four minutes taking a detour to avoid an ankle-deep flood near the British School.

Again, it was the usual 21-kilometer route of most RunRio races at BGC with an additional four kilometers.  However, they modified the route printed on the runners’ handbook by taking away the portions to be run around the McKinley Hill area up to the Libingan ng mga Bayani.  This was replaced for a round around the American Cemetery and extending the u-turn on Buendia Avenue to a few meters away from the LRT-1 from the usual u-turn just before the Buendia Flyover.

Anything beyond the 21st kilometer was uncharted territory.  Actually, I could not even remember where the distance marker for it was situated!  Let’s just say that I just decided to take it extra easy upon reaching Lawton Avenue and making a round around the American Cemetery before returning to BGC for the finish.

As in any run in the rain, I run slower than usual as I avoid puddles and the water on my clothes and footwear adding extra weight.  Upon crossing the finish line, I had ice and liniment applied on both knees and legs at the Medical Tent.  I also battled blisters on my right foot – definitely pain in the rain.

By the way, I was made to understand that since I was using a complimentary entry, I would be disqualified if ever from winning the brand new Chevrolet Cruze in the post-race raffle.  That’s all right since the race helped me prepare for my next race.

The Chevrolet New Balance Power Run is actually the start of three consecutive weekends of extreme physical challenges in line with the celebration for another year of running.  Coming up next is the Unilab III 32K at the Mall of Asia on November 13 followed by the third leg of the 2011 Powerade Duathlon series in Santa Rosa City on November 19.

About Anthony E. Servinio

A long-time television sportscaster, magazine writer, photographer and college professor from the Philippines finally gives blogging a try after more than a decade of on-line presence. Read on folks!
This entry was posted in Running, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment