FilOil: DLSU d. Lyceum, 100-99

2017 FilOil Flying V Premier Cup     SAN JUAN City – Defending champion De La Salle University survived the hard challenge of Lyceum of the Philippines University, 100-99, and advance to the championship game of the 11th FilOil Flying V Premier Cup Friday (June 23) at the FilOil Flying V Centre.  Waiting for the Green Archers in the finale to be played on Sunday (June 25) is undefeated San Beda College.

Rookie Leonard Santillan completed a three-point play with 10 seconds left for the marginal points.  From there, the Pirates bungled their two chances to scores starting with an errant pass by Reymar Caduyac to Mike Harry Nzeusseu.

Earlier, Caduyac almost became the game hero as he scored the go-ahead basket at the 35-second mark, 99-97.  Nzeusseu had just tied the game in the previous sequence on a three-point play off Benoit Mbala, 97-97, capping their climb from seven points down entering the last two minutes.

What appeared to be shaping up as a walk in the park for the Green Archers suddenly turned into a battle as Lyceum’s three-point shooters Wilson Baltazar and Ralph Tansingco began to click to complement the all-around game of team leader CJ Perez.  Timely hits from Aljun Melecio, Ricci Rivero and Mbala maintained the Green Archers’ distance until the late fourth period rally by the Pirates.

Melecio led all scorers with 30 points and four steals.  Rivero added 27 and Mbala 26 on top of 16 rebounds and three blocks in an awesome display of firepower.

Perez paced the Pirates with 24 points, 11 rebounds, seven assists and six steals.  Baltazar was next with 19 points from four triples while Tansingco had 15, all from the three-point arc.

The championship game between the Green Archers and Red Lions will commence at 4:00 PM with live streaming at  Jose Rizal University and Lyceum will play for Third Place at 2:00 PM.

How They Scored:

DE LA SALLE (100) – Melecio 30, R. Rivero 27, Mbala 26, Santillan 9, Caracut 4, Baltazar 2, Tero 2, Tratter 0, Go 0.

LYCEUM (99) – Perez 24, Baltazar 19, Tansingco 15,  Ayaay 13, Nzeusseu 7, Caduyac 6, Pretta 5, JC Marcelino 5, JV Marcelino 4, Ibanez 1, Cinco 0, Liwag 0.

Period Scores: 23-15, 45-47, 77-73, 100-99.


About Anthony E. Servinio

A long-time television sportscaster, magazine writer, photographer and college professor from the Philippines finally gives blogging a try after more than a decade of on-line presence. Read on folks!
This entry was posted in Basketball, NCAA, Sports, UAAP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s