RTU Lady Thunder, the first Women’s Basketball Champions of the NCRUCLAA.

NCRUCLAA on Facebook    QUEZON CITY – This time, Rizal Technological University wasted no time in sweeping away Emilio Aguinaldo College-Cavite, 80-40, and annex the National Capital Region Universities and Colleges of Luzon Athletic Association (NCRUCLAA) Women’s Division Championship at the Colegio de San Lorenzo Gym Tuesday (March 28).  The game was a far cry from the series opener which the Lady Thunder barely won, 80-74, last March 23.

“I ordered the players to go hard from the opening buzzer,” said champion coach Julian Bagares III, who went through the tournament undefeated over seven games. “We just applied the lessons we learned because we cannot play like the way we played Game One.”

While RTU entered the court a determined bunch, the Lady Vanguard showed they would not go down without a fight and matched the Lady Thunder shot for shot.  The result was RTU clinging on to a shaky 17-15 lead but that all changed come the second period as the floodgates literally burst open.

Crislyn Mier and Jocelyn Ayhon combined for 19 points as RTU outscored EAC, 26-8, and it was an all-RTU show from that point onwards.  So unforgiving was the Lady Thunder defense that they limited the Lady Vanguard to single digit outputs in the latter three periods.

Mier and Ayhon shared scoring honors for the Lady Thunder with 16 markers each.  Jeremiah Yonzon followed with 10 points.

Jel Ponce had another stellar outing for the Lady Vanguard with 20 points or half of the team’s output.  However, lack of support marked EAC’s downfall with Rosanelle Ranoco the next highest scorer with only eight markers.

The rest of the winning Lady Thunder include Jonalyn Halawig, Angela Dionisio, Judy Anne Orillana, Nova Mantos, Bianca Castillano, Rachel Dayupay, Janice Tagudin, Vanessa Mantos, Chicky Faraon, Joyce Enage, Ira Canales and Nina Ybanez.  Assisting Coach Bagares was Rica Francisco.

Meanwhile, Philippine Merchant Marine School bagged Third Place by clipping University of Makati, 55-53.  De La Salle University-Dasmarinas completes the five-team cast in the Women’s Division.

How They Scored:

For Third Place

P M M S (55) – Dumago 11, Bolo 11, Ilano 8, de la Cuesta 8, Herance 8, Castillo 6, Malig-on 2, Munar 1, Paredes 0, Ogbac 0.

MAKATI (53) – Sarmenta 18, Espiritu 18, Alba 9, Azur 2, de la Cruz 2, Tambong 0, Bande 0, Maquez 0, Tadeo 0.

Period Scores: 10-14, 14-29, 43-38, 55-53.


RIZAL TECH (80) – Mier 16, Ayhon 16, Yonzon 10, Orillana 7, Castillano 6, N. Mantos 5, Tagudin 4, Faraon 4, Halawig 3, Dayupay 3, Dionisio 2, Ybanez 2, V. Mantos 2, Enage 0.

EAC-CAVITE (40) – Ponce 20, Ranoco 8, Palomillo 3, Lanto 3, Coronado 2, Bas 2, Orina 2, Raya 0, Gabriana 0, Pagsanjan 0, Perez 0.

Period Scores: 17-15, 43-23, 62-31, 80-40.


About Anthony E. Servinio

A long-time television sportscaster, magazine writer, photographer and college professor from the Philippines finally gives blogging a try after more than a decade of on-line presence. Read on folks!
This entry was posted in Basketball, NCRUCLAA, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s