RTU, PMMS, Fatima Open Volleyball Tilt With A Bang

Simple rites preceded the games of the 16th NAASCU Volleyball tournaments.

Simple rites preceded the games of the 16th NAASCU Volleyball tournaments.

NAASCU on Facebook     MANDALUYONG CITY – Defending champion Rizal Technological University opened its title retention bid on a positive note by turning back AMA University in a four-set thriller, 25-12, 23-25, 25-19 and 25-14 on opening day of the 16th National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities (NAASCU) Women’s Volleyball Tournament Saturday (February 4) at the RTU Gym.

In the opening match, returning Our Lady of Fatima University halted Philippine Christian University in straight sets, 25-13, 25-21 and 25-14.  The Lady Phoenix did not compete last season.

In the nightcap, last year’s runner-up Philippine Merchant Marine School made short work of New Era University in four sets, 25-17, 22-25, 25-11 and 25-22.

Fatima Hip Hop Champions

Meanwhile, the Fatima Dance Team set the stage for a double celebration by clinching the Hip Hop Challenge that was part of the opening ceremonies.  RTU president Dr. Jesus Rodrigo Torres and NAASCU chairperson Dr. Ernesto Jay Adalem awarded the trophy to the FDT which bested entries from PCU and Saint Clare College of Caloocan in a three-way showdown.

A jubilant Fatima Dance Team celebrates as the claim this season's Hip Hop Challenge.

A jubilant Fatima Dance Team celebrates as they claim this season’s Hip Hop Challenge.

The nine participating schools in the distaff side have been divided into two groups with Group A composed of Saint Clare, RTU, AMA and guest team Holy Angel University while Group B has Fatima, PCU, Colegio de San Lorenzo, New Era and PMMS.  The teams will play a single round robin with their group mates with the top two in each group advancing to the knockout crossover semifinals with the winners disputing the championship in a one-game affair.

The Men’s Division will have the same format but with only eight teams participating.  Group A counts HAU, New Era, San Lorenzo and AMA while Group B will have defending champion RTU, PCU, Fatima and PMMS.


About Anthony E. Servinio

A long-time television sportscaster, magazine writer, photographer and college professor from the Philippines finally gives blogging a try after more than a decade of on-line presence. Read on folks!
This entry was posted in NAASCU, Sports, Volleyball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s