NCRUCLAA on Facebook     HOST SCHOOL Asian Institute of Maritime Studies will tackle Philippine State College of Aeronautics in the first game of a Seniors Division tripleheader to mark the opening of the National Capital Region Universities and Colleges of Luzon Athletic Association (NCRUCLAA) Basketball tournament at the Cuneta Astrodome this Tuesday (January 17) starting at 11:00 AM.  The game will be preceded with a simple one-hour ceremony starting at 10:00 AM.

The second game at 12:30 PM will have PATTS College of Aeronautics against Olivarez College in a clash of teams from Paranaque City.  The day’s final offering will pit Colegio de San Lorenzo versus Philippine Merchant Marine School at 2:00 PM.

Drawing opening day byes are Don Bosco Technical College, De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, De Ocampo Memorial College, Emilio Aguinaldo College-Cavite, National College of Business and Arts, Philippine School of Business Administration, Rizal Technological University, Saint Francis of Assisi College, Technological Institute of the Philippines and University of Makati.  At 16 schools, the NCRUCLAA is the biggest collegiate sports league in the country today in terms of membership.

Meanwhile, 10 schools are entered in the Juniors Division for players aged 19 years and under while six squads will dispute the Women’s Division title.  Competitions in Men’s and Women’s Volleyball will also be held simultaneously with the Basketball tournament.

This year’s NCRUCLAA President is Engr. Ted N. Cada of AIMS while Arturo “Bai” Cristobal is the Basketball Commissioner.  Referees will be provided by the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP).

Subsequent Seniors Division matches will be played every Monday and Thursday with UMak and PATTS alternating as venue hosts.  Games will be aired on Basketball TV and Solar Sports.

The NCRUCLAA is the result of the merger National Capital Region Athletic Association (NCRAA) and Universities and Colleges of Luzon Athletic Association (UCLAA) after both leagues concluded their respective seasons early last year.  PMMS won their second straight NCRAA plum while PATTS ruled the UCLAA but neither side will be considered the defending champion in the newly-organized league.

The sixteen schools have been divided into two groups of eight and will play a single round robin. The top four in each group will advance to the crossover knockout quarterfinals followed by the best-of-three semifinals and best-of-three championship series.

About Anthony E. Servinio

A long-time television sportscaster, magazine writer, photographer and college professor from the Philippines finally gives blogging a try after more than a decade of on-line presence. Read on folks!
This entry was posted in Basketball, NCRUCLAA, Sports, Volleyball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s