PMMS Mariners Start NAASCU Journey

NAASCU on Facebook     A WHOLE new journey awaits the Philippine Merchant Marine School (PMMS) varsity teams after their school was formally accepted as a member of the National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities (NAASCU).  Last year, the Las Pinas City-based school got a taste of NAASCU action when they saw action as a guest team in Volleyball and other second semester events but it will be a totally different ballgame now and the Mariners hope to rise to the challenge.

PMMS has a history of championships in previous tournaments that they joined and hope to continue their winning ways when the 16th NAASCU season kicks off on August 25 at the Cuneta Astrodome.  No less than PMMS President and Chairman of the Board Juan O. Nolasco III has declared the school’s full support behind their Mariners.

The Mariners will field a complete delegation to the centerpiece Basketball event with former MBA professional player Aldrin Morante as head coach of the Seniors.  The Juniors will be handled by former NAASCU player Marlon Keith Martin of STI while the Lady Mariners will have Bryle Orog as their coach.

Last year, the Lady Mariners of Coach Robert Buenamente went all the way to capture runner-up honors in Women’s Volleyball.  Their male counterparts under Coach JR Libay also did well by taking home Third Place.

The school has also assembled a roster of competent coaches in other disciplines that they will participate in namely Benjie Cortes in Swimming, Michael Comayingking for Badminton, Jun Glorioso for Table Tennis and Harlem Ruiz for Chess.  Ruiz will also serve as PMMS representative in the NAASCU Board.

“Our President wanted to enter a league that would give our student athletes and the school maximum exposure so we chose NAASCU,” said Ruiz. “Last season, we wanted to make a good impression on the NAASCU leadership as a guest and we are thankful that they have accepted PMMS as a member.”

PMMS is just part of the massive expansion of the NAASCU this year that counts De Ocampo Memorial College, Enderun Colleges, Manuel L. Quezon University, and Colegio de San Lorenzo joining returnees AMA University and Lyceum of Subic Bay.  Completing the 13-school league are regular members Saint Clare College of Caloocan, New Era University, City University of Pasay, Our Lady of Fatima University, Rizal Technological University and Philippine Christian University.


About Anthony E. Servinio

A long-time television sportscaster, magazine writer, photographer and college professor from the Philippines finally gives blogging a try after more than a decade of on-line presence. Read on folks!
This entry was posted in Badminton, Basketball, NAASCU, Sports, Table Tennis, Volleyball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s