Wagdos, Miranda Repeat In Davao

#BuildChampions     DAVAO CITY – The new 21-kilometer route did not matter as the same old faces ruled anew at the 39th MILO Marathon Davao qualifying race Sunday (November 8) at the SM Lanang Premier. Sonny Wagdos and Judelyn Miranda successfully repeated as regional champions as they bested the 8,500-strong field.

Although a bit slower now, Wagdos clocked 1:15:25 and edge out Michale Achalico who came in at 1:15:56, reprising their duel from a year ago. Manny Marfil took Third Place at 1:19:34.

Miranda, a regular MILO participant since her teens, comfortably captured the distaff side with a time of 1:32:57 with Madelyn Carter coming in at Second Place for the second year in a row at 1:48:19. Hazelvic Villanueva landed in Third Place at 1:52:07.

Wagdos was challenged this year because he also had to focus on his academics since he is he will be earning his degree soon from the University of Mindanao. Miranda on the other hand had to balance training and her work.

Both Wagdos and Miranda earned trophies and PHP 10,000.00 each. A total of 33 men and four women earned slots in the National Finals set for December 6, 2016 at the SM City Clark in Angeles City with the field expected to surpass the 1,000-runner mark with two more regional legs to go on the schedule.

Reigning MILO Marathon King Rafael Poliquit from nearby Tagum City, Davao del Norte also graced Sunday’s races and still ran despite already being assured of a spot in the Nationals. MILO Queen Mary Joy Tabal competed and won the General Santos City qualifiers last October 18 in a season record clocking of 1:21:42.

Aside from the podium finishers, also winning big last Sunday were selected local public school pupils who received new athletic shoes from MILO. Giving shoes has been the race’s advocacy for years now in the hope that these shoes could help in the discovery and development of sports champions among the youth.

The penultimate leg of the MILO Marathon qualifiers will be held next week (November 15) in Cagayan de Oro City. For registration and more information, please contact local organizer Ben Dacera at (0916) 724-8585 or (0917) 632-7784.

Other Winners: Arlan Arbois Jr. and Diana Mae Memoracion (10 kilometers), Erwin Gubal and Arlieny Onso (five kilometers) and Edgardo Memoracion and Mary Depone (three kilometers).


About Anthony E. Servinio

A long-time television sportscaster, magazine writer, photographer and college professor from the Philippines finally gives blogging a try after more than a decade of on-line presence. Read on folks!
This entry was posted in Marathon, Running, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s