39th MILO Finals In Angeles

#BuildChampions THE 39th MILO Marathon National Finals will be held in Angeles City marking the first time that the Philippines’ premier running event will be held outside of Metro Manila. Runners can expect new challenges with the unpredictable roads around the city and the adjoining Clark Field.

As always, a series of 17 regional qualifying races will be held with a pair of new venues – Balanga City, Bataan on July 19 and Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro on August 2. The two cities will take the places of Angeles City (since it will host the finals) and Puerto Princesa City.

The much-awaited Metro Manila qualifiers will be on July 26 at the SM Mall of Asia grounds in Pasay City. The season will commence on June 28 in Dagupan City, Pangasinan.

All eyes will be on defending champions Mary Joy Tabal and Rafael Poliquit.

All eyes will be on defending champions Mary Joy Tabal and Rafael Poliquit.

MILO Marathon Queen Mary Joy Tabal of Cebu City successfully retained her title last December while Rafael Poliquit of Tagum City, Davao del Norte claimed his first MILO Marathon King title. On top of their cash prize and trophies, the winning duo will represent the Philippines in the 2015 Asics LA Marathon on March 15 in California, USA.

Now is the time to begin training and make travel arrangements if needed. Whether the goal is to make the National Finals or to simply finish or improve a personal mark, participating in the MILO Marathon alone will go a long way in fueling the race’s advocacy of donating athletic shoes and promoting sports to public schoolchildren.

Happy pupils show off their new shoes from MILO.

Happy pupils show off their new shoes from MILO.

Last year alone, MILO managed to give out over 16,000 pairs of shoes with focus on typhoon-ravaged areas in Eastern Visayas. A portion of the race registration fees will go to the campaign and this amount will be matched by MILO.

Here is the complete 2015 MILO Marathon schedule:

28-Jun Dagupan 20-Sep Iloilo
5-Jul Baguio 27-Sep Bacolod
12-Jul Tarlac 4-Oct Tagbilaran
19-Jul Balanga 11-Oct Cebu
26-Jul Metro Manila 18-Oct General Santos
2-Aug Calapan 8-Nov Davao
9-Aug Lipa 15-Nov Butuan
16-Aug Naga 22-Nov Cagayan de Oro
30-Aug Lucena 6-Dec Angeles

Note: Schedule subject to change without prior notice.


About Anthony E. Servinio

A long-time television sportscaster, magazine writer, photographer and college professor from the Philippines finally gives blogging a try after more than a decade of on-line presence. Read on folks!
This entry was posted in Marathon, Running, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 39th MILO Finals In Angeles

  1. Elvys says:

    Sir any idea why Puerto Princesa not included in 2015 Milo Marathon? Thanks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s