NAASCU Stars Tapped for 28th SEAG

National duty beckons for (L-R) Sedurifa, de Leon, Abundo and Ibay.

National duty beckons for (L-R) Sedurifa, de Leon, Abundo and Ibay.

NAASCU on Facebook

FOUR OUTSTANDING players from the National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities (NAASCU) were recently named to the 50-man pool of candidates for the national men’s basketball team that will see action at the 28th Southeast Asian Games from June 5 to 16 this year in Singapore. Reigning Most Valuable Player Samboy de Leon of back-to-back champion Centro Escolar University heads the list along with teammates Joseph Sedurifa and Alvin Abundo and Jayson Ibay of Saint Clare College.

National coach Tab Baldwin bared the list to be lead by veteran center Marcus Douthit and composed of representatives from the major college leagues, the PBA D-League, one PBA pro rookie and a high school prospect from the United States. The list was formulated with consultation from a search committee composed of Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) officials who represent the various college leagues in Coach Raul “Yayoy” D. Alcoseba (CeSAFI), Coach Edmundo B. Baculi (UAAP), Fr. Victor Calvo (NCAA) and Dr. Ernesto Jay Adalem (NAASCU).

De Leon was the key player in the Scorpions’ repeat championship last September. Sedurifa, who like de Leon is a reliable shooter, was the MVP the previous season when CEU took its first NAASCU Seniors Division plum.

Abundo has distinguished himself as one of the best point guards in the league, emerging as the top assist man in 2014. Ibay is a versatile forward who played the last two seasons with the Saints but won back-to-back championships as a vital cog of the University of Manila Hawks in 2010 and 2011.

The three CEU Scorpions also have extensive experience in the PBA D-League with the CaféFrance Bakers. Ibay is currently with Racal Motors Alibaba after a stint with the Informatics Icons in 2012.

Aside from the four mentioned players, a trio of NAASCU alumni who later transferred to other schools also made the list. These are 2011 Rookie of the Year Jiovani Jalalon (Informatics/Arellano), Bernabe Teodoro (Our Lady of Fatima/Jose Rizal) and Bong Galanza (UM/UE).

The Philippines is the defending champion in Men’s Basketball. In the last edition held in Burma two years ago, the Filipinos under Coach Joseph Uichico won all their six games by an average of 38 points en route to the gold medal.

The team back then was composed of Douthit, Ray Parks, Kevin Alas, Jake Pascual, Keifer Ravena, Garvo Lanete, Roi Sumang, Kevin Ferrer, Jericho Cruz, Mac Belo, Roland Pascual and Matt Ganuelas-Rosser. Only Douthit, Parks, Ravena, Sumang, Lanete, Ferrer and Belo are part of the current pool.

Here is the complete list of candidates in alphabetical order:

Name Pos School D-League Club
1 ABAD John Michael G UV
2 ABUNDO Mon Alvin T. G CEU CaféFrance
3 AGOVIDA Keith Jasper M. F Arellano Racal Motors
4 ALOLINO Joshua Angelo G National CaféFrance
5 AMER Baser C. G San Beda Hapee
6 AQUINO Matthew C Adamson
7 ARBOLEDA Harold Miguel D. G Perpetual Help NLEX (PBA)
8 ASUNCION Jaycee John R. G Jose Rizal Racal Motors
9 BELO Rey Mark F FEU MJM M-Builders
10 BENSIG Venezer Ian G San Carlos
11 CODILLA Alfred F UV
12 CRUZ Mark L. G Letran Jumbo Plastic
13 DE LEON Rodel Samboy N. F CEU CaféFrance
14 DELA CRUZ Arthur A. F San Beda Hapee
15 DESIDERIO Andres Paul G UP-Diliman
16 DOUTHIT Marcus Eugene C Providence Blackwater (PBA)
17 FERRER Kevin F UST Cebuana Lhuillier
18 GALANZA Pedrito D. Jr. G UE CaféFrance
19 GOLORAN Daryl F Southwestern
20 GUINTO Bradwyn M. C San Sebastian ATC Livermarin
21 HOLPER Melvin F Southwestern
22 IBAY Jayson H. F Saint Clare Racal Motors
23 JALALON Jiovani N. G Arellano Bread Story
24 KHOBUNTIN Glenn R. F National Jumbo Plastic
25 KOGA Ryusei G. G San Beda Hapee
26 LANETE Garvo A. G San Beda Hapee
27 MAGAT Nicolas Kyle G San Carlos
28 MANGAHAS Allan Edward F. G Mapua Tech Cebuana Lhuillier
29 MOHAMMED Adams G Southwestern
30 NAMBATAC Rey Benedict C. G Letran
31 NEWSOME Christopher F Ateneo Hapee
32 PARAS Kobe Lorenzo F. F Cathedral HS
33 PARKER Jasper G Southwestern
34 PARKS Bobby Ray B. Jr. G National Hapee
35 PEREZ Jaymar G. F Ateneo
36 PINGOY Jerie G Ateneo
37 RACAL Kevin Kent R. F Letran Racal Motors
38 RAVENA Keifer Isaac C. G Ateneo
39 ROSARIO Jeth Troy C National Hapee
41 SARA Roldan V. G San Beda
42 SEDURIFA Joseph B. G CEU CaféFrance
43 SUMANG Shej Roi R. G UE Tanduay Light
44 TALLO Mark Jayven G Southwestern
45 TENG Jeron Alvin U. F DLSU
46 TEODORO Bernabe M. G Jose Rizal Racal Motors
47 THOMPSON Earl Scottie C. G Perpetual Help Hapee
48 TOLOMIA Christopher Michael S. G FEU MJM M-Builders
49 TORRES Norberto DLC. C DLSU Cebuana Lhuillier
50 VAN OPSTAL Arnold C DLSU Hapee

About Anthony E. Servinio

A long-time television sportscaster, magazine writer, photographer and college professor from the Philippines finally gives blogging a try after more than a decade of on-line presence. Read on folks!
This entry was posted in Basketball, NAASCU, NCAA, PBA, SEABA, Sports, UAAP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s